9.00am - 5.00pm


9.00am - 5.00pm


12.00pm - 3.00pm


The Keats Trio with Jonathan Sage, clarinet

The Becket Chapel, Cathedral Precincts
Thursday 7 July 2016 18:30 - 19:15

Our Thursday evening recital series continues with a programme ranging from the 18th to the 21st century.


Bernhard Henrik Crusell: Clarinet Quartet No 2 in C Minor

Robert Busiakiewicz: Three's A Crowd, for string trio

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Clarinet Quartet No.3

Bernhard Henrik Crusell (1775-1838): Being a clarinetist himself, virtually all of Crusell’s compositions include the instrument, with his three quartets for clarinet, violin, viola and cello being among his only chamber music works. His second Clarinet Quartet dates from 1804 and is on the fence between the late classical and the early romantic. As one might expect, the clarinet part is quite prominent with lots of material designed to showcase the clarinettist's skill. The music is full of appealing melodies, which made it a popular program choice throughout the 19th century.

Robert Busiakiewicz: Written especially for the Keats Trio, this cheeky, fun trio plays loosely on jazz styles, an unusual genre for strings. Three movements: 'Collisions and Conversation', 'Calling It Quits' and 'Keats' Cakewalk'. Busiakiewicz is an award-winning English composer who now lives in Canada. He attended King's College London with Charlotte where they were both undergraduates.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791): Mozart’s third clarinet trio is a contemporary transcription of his piano trio in G major, with it being unclear as to whether Mozart or one of his pupils was responsible.  What is clear, is that the arranger has captured both the essence of the trio and the spirit of the clarinet, with superb blending and interplay between soloist and strings.  Written for clarinet in C, this is a little performed, but delightful piece of clarinet repertoire.

The programme will last around 50-60 minutes.


Jonathan Sage, clarinetist

Charlotte Fairbairn (violin), Heather Bourne (viola) and Elisheba Stevens ('cello) are members of the Keats Quartet. Keats is a well-established and versatile string quartet which performs across the UK, with professionalism, exceptional musicality and a sense of spontaneous fun.

Jonathan Sage is a freelance clarinettist based in York, England. He studied with Alan Hacker and Lesley Schatzberger at the University of York, gaining a Masters Degree in Performance with distinction. As a concerto soloist, Jonathan has played with Orchestras including the London Mozart Players, York Sinfonia, Cambridge Youth Orchestra and the HessleSinfonia.


Entry is £5 per person. Please pay on the door, by cash or cheque.

Find out more about our Thursday evening recital series, which runs from 9th June to 14th July.